Technical committee for a model standard for the built environment - accessibility for federally regulated entities as defined in the Accessible Canada Act


The role of the technical committee is to:

  • Identify barriers to accessibility in the built environment
  • Take into account emerging trends in the area of accessibility of the built environment
  • Develop a model standard for the built environment - accessibility that will apply best practices.

Compensation for individual members

We are adopting Canadian and international practices to develop accessibility standards. We will recruit experts from various backgrounds. These are volunteer roles as most members will represent organizations. If an individual with a disability is not paid by an organization, we will compensate them for their role as an expert on a technical committee.

Travel directive

If members need to travel, Accessibility Standards Canada covers expenditures, as per the Government of Canada travel directive.

Areas of focus

There are common areas where persons with disabilities may face barriers related to the built environment. These include, but are not limited to:

  • building entrances;
  • paths of travel;
  • access to storeys;
  • parking and loading zones;
  • controls;
  • power door operators;
  • assistive listening devices;
  • signage;
  • washrooms and universal washrooms (including showers).

Committee Members

Find below our technical committee members, title, and organization, grouped by stakeholder category.

Academic and research bodies

1. Ms. Joyce Barlow, Workplace Accessibility Specialist, University of Waterloo

2. Dr. Sophia Li, Staff Scientist and Manager of Partnerships and Strategic Partnerships, KITE Research Institute of the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network

Consumer and public interest

3. Ms. Carrie Anton, Coordinator, Accessibility Services, Athabasca University

4. Mr. Jacques Courteau, Accessibility Advocate and Retired Grievance Adjudicator, Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

5. Mr. Steve Foglia, Accessibility Advocate

6. Mrs. Betty Dion, President, Betty Dion Enterprises Ltd.

7. Mr. Andre Gordon, Principal Accessibility Strategist, FlashAbility Access

8. Ms. Judy Redmond, Director, J. Redmond Consulting

9. Mr. Matthew Shaw, Managing Partner, Disability Solutions

Government and authorities having jurisdiction

10. Ms. Sarah Eve De Lisle, Accessibility Coordinator, EXO (Réseau de transport métropolotain, Montréal)

11. Mrs. Tracy Kirkwood, Supervisor, Project Management Office, Regional Municipality of York

12. Ms. Anna Valliant, Senior Engineer, Guidelines and Standards, City of Ottawa

13. Mrs. Candice Young, Project Manager – Accessibility, Employment and Social Development Canada

Industry and commerce

14. Mr. Dominic Esposito, Senior Project Consultant, Jensen Hughes

15. Dr. Massimo Crimini, Principal and Lead Strategy Officer, Janus Construction Group of Companies and bphealth Accessibility Inc.

16. Mr. Sean Crump, CEO, Universal Access

Non-governmental organizations

17. Mr. Hans (Uli) Egger, Accessibility Certification Specialist/Adjudicator, Rick Hansen Foundation

Notice of intent