Technical committee on outdoor spaces


The role of the technical committee for standards for outdoor spaces is to:

  • identify where persons with disabilities may face barriers in the outdoor environment
  • develop a national standard or standards that will try to remove or prevent these barriers

This standard or standards will apply to all private and public sector organizations in the federally regulated sector.

Compensation for individual members

We are adopting Canadian and international practices to develop accessibility standards. We will recruit experts from various backgrounds. These are volunteer roles as most members will represent organizations. If an individual with a disability is not paid by an organization, we will compensate them for their role as an expert on a technical committee.

Travel directive

If members need to travel, Accessibility Standards Canada covers expenditures, as per the Government of Canada travel directive.

Areas of focus

A few areas where persons with disabilities may face barriers in outdoor spaces include:

  • outdoor paths:
    • recreation trails
    • paths to beaches
    • sidewalks and walkways
  • lack of accessible parking
  • outdoor public use eating areas
  • outdoor play spaces
  • services (for example service counters)
  • maintenance (fixing things)

Committee members

Find below our technical committee members, title, and organization, grouped by stakeholder category. 

Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

Chairperson: Haley Flaro
Vice Chairperson: Isabelle Ducharme

Academic and research bodies

1. Dr. Patricia Longmuir, Senior Scientist, CHEO and CHEO Research Institute
2. Dr. Alison Novak, Scientist, KITE Research Institute, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network
3. Dr. Keiko Shikako, Associate Professor, School of Physical and Occupational Therapy, McGill University

Standards users

4. Mrs. Ivy Smith, Associate Landscape Designer, LEES+Associates Landscape Architecture and Planning
5. Mr. Andrew Ashby, Manager, Accessibility Services, Human Rights & Equity Office, Queen's University
6. Ms. Aasiya Hussain, CEO & Executive Director, Ecohesian Inc

Government and authorities having jurisdiction

7. Mr. Yoland Charette, Chef - architecture de paysage et design industriel, Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN-NCC)
8. Mr. Robert Lipka, Principal Urban Designer, City of Edmonton
9. Dr. Nicole Yantzi, Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) Coordinator, City of Belleville

Non-governmental Organizations

10. Ms. Haley Flaro (Chairperson), Executive Director, Ability New Brunswick
11. Ms. Isabelle Ducharme (Vice Chairperson), Présidente du conseil d'administration, Kéroul
12. Mrs. Marnie Courage, member/rep, Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists (CAOT)

Standards Development Organizations

13. Ms. Stephanie Singh, Project Manager, CSA Group