Standards development process: 12 steps

Long text version

Accessibility Standards Canada Standards Development Process: 12 Steps

A graphic that shows a vertical 12 step pathway. Each circle on the pathway is a step in Accessibility Standards Canada’s accessibility standards development process. The steps are:

  1. Identify priorities for standards development;
  2. Establish technical committee requirements;
  3. Create terms of reference to guide the committees;
  4. Create technical committees of 12 to 18 members;
  5. Draft the accessibility standard;
  6. Consult the public by sharing the draft standard online;
  7. Organize and incorporate public feedback;
  8. Confirm the standard was developed appropriately;
  9. Approve the standard;
  10. Publish the standard;
  11. Recommend the standard to the Minister; and
  12. Review and maintain the standard.