Minutes of the Board of Directors’ special meeting – January 17, 2020


Members of the Board of Directors (the Board)

  • Me Paul-Claude Bérubé, Chairperson
  • William Adair, Director
  • Kory Earle, Director (in person)
  • Maureen Haan, Director
  • Penny Hartin, Director
  • Rabia Khedr, Director
  • Brad McCannell, Director
  • Dr. Joe McLaughlin, Director
  • Laurie Ringaert, Director


  • Mary Reid, Director

Accessibility Standards Canada staff members

  • Philip Rizcallah, Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
  • Kevin Whitehouse, Director General
  • Christina Richard, Manager, Communications Manager
  • Maggie Saunders, Acting Manager, Governance and Reporting
  • Micah Walter, Policy Analyst, Governance and Reporting
  • Lorraine Trudel, Coordinator, Governance and Reporting


Friday, January 17, 2020

1. Roll call and welcoming remarks

The Meeting opened at 1:30 p.m. with a roll call and words of welcome from the Chairperson.

2. Approval of the agenda

04-1 Motion for the approval of the Agenda as presented.

Carried by all.

3. Departmental plan

04-2 Motion for the approval of the Departmental Plan as presented.

The Departmental Plan was given to all Board members to review prior to the meeting. A summary of the Departmental Plan was presented by staff. The document was prepared by staff in consultation with the Strategic Planning Committee and review of key sections by the Chairperson.

Throughout the document, the new applied title “Accessibility Standards Canada” was used. Overall, the Board was satisfied with the document. One small change was recommended for the Chairperson’s message: to include the words “and inclusive” (that is to say, accessible and inclusive for all). Discussion followed regarding targets and timeframes for achieving accessibility standards. Comments, questions, in achieving 1 to 3 standards in the timeframe proposed demonstrated meaningful progress to removing and preventing barriers.

Upon approval of the Board, the Departmental Plan will be provided to the Minister for her signature and approval, and then to Treasury Board Secretariat. It will then be tabled in Parliament on a date to be determined.

04-3 Motion that the Board approves the Departmental Plan and that staff makes the recommended changes to the document.

Carried by all.

4. Concluding remarks

The Chairperson reminded all Chairs of Standing Committees to send all relevant documents to staff by January 20, 2020 in preparation for the February 2020 regular Board meeting.

04-4 Motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:30 p.m.

Carried by all.