Minutes of the Board of Directors’ special meeting – November 14, 2019


Members of the Board of directors (the Board)

  • Me Paul-Claude Bérubé, Chairperson
  • Mary Reid, Vice-Chairperson
  • William Adair, Director
  • Kory Earle, Director
  • Maureen Haan, Director (as of 1:18 pm)
  • Penny Hartin, Director
  • Rabia Khedr, Director
  • Brad McCannell, Director
  • Dr. Joe McLaughlin, Director
  • Laurie Ringaert, Director

Accessibility Standards Canada staff members

  • Philip Rizcallah, Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
  • Kevin Whitehouse, Director General
  • Maggie Saunders, Corporate Secretariat Acting Manager
  • Alejandra Carillo, Departmental Results Framework Consultant

1. Words of welcome

The meeting was opened at 1:00 pm with a roll call and words of welcome from the Chairperson.

2. Approval of the agenda

Motion for the approval of the agenda.

Carried by all.

3. Departmental results framework and program inventory

Document circulated along with a Briefing Note.

The Chairperson, Ms. Saunders and the CEO provided remarks on the purpose of, and timing pressures around, the Departmental Results Framework. The Framework was prepared by staff, reviewed by the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and CEO and refined through multiple rounds of feedback from Treasury Board Secretariat officials.

Overall, the Board was satisfied with the draft, but noted the importance of explicitly incorporating the concept of diversity into the Core Responsibility and clarifying that “industry” includes businesses. The Board also understood that the Framework could be updated next year, as needed.

Motion that the Board approve the Departmental Results Framework and Program Inventory for Accessibility Standards Canada, and delegate to staff the authority to make minor changes to respond to future comments from Treasury Board Secretariat staff.

Carried by all.

4. Concluding remarks

On Monday, November 18, 2019, directors will receive the materials for the next in-person Board meeting, scheduled for November 25 to 27, 2019. Anyone who has items to include on that agenda, or general questions, may contact the Chairperson.