Departmental results report - Gender-based analysis plus

Definition of gender-based analysis plus (GBA+)

A process used to identify the impacts of policies, programs and services on different groups of:

  • women;
  • men; and
  • gender-diverse people.

The "plus" considers many factors, such as race, ethnicity, religion, age, and mental or physical disability.

Institutional GBA+ Capacity

Accessibility Standards Canada is committed to ensuring inclusive results for Canadians. GBA+ considerations are included in all aspects of its business. For example:

  • Board of Directors - members represent identity factors such as gender, age, ethnicity, religion, and disability.
  • Job Posters – all job posters include messaging to encourage members from the four employment equity groups[1] to apply.
  • Technical Committees – in the planning stage of this program, taking into account GBA+ considerations like the LGBTQ+ community, was a factor considered in its upcoming selection process.
  • Web – to model accessibility standards, all webpages meet WCAG 2.1 Web standards. This makes its content easier to use for people with disabilities. Also, the majority of webpages include videos in:
    • American Sign Language (ASL); and
    • Langue des signes Québécoise (Quebec Sign Language).
  • Social Media – between January 2020 and March 2020, the organization became active on three major social media platforms:
    • Twitter;
    • Facebook; and
    • LinkedIn.
  • Like the website, every effort is made to be accessible across all social media platforms. To do this content always includes:
    • alt-text;
    • image descriptions; and
    • closed captioning when sharing videos.
  • Communications and reporting – the organization uses plain language as part of its efforts to make its information accessible. It does so for communications and reporting. This includes information available to the public and internal documents

Highlights of GBA+ Results by Program

Not available.

[1] The Employment Equity Act identifies and defines the designated groups as women, Aboriginal people, people with disabilities and visible minorities.